Quiches, tarts, and pies

I’ve been meaning to try making quiches, tarts, and pies for awhile now. When I lived in DC, the Farmers Market near Dupont Circle had this one tent that sold the best tarts I’ve ever had. Each tart was a generous portion topped with whole pieces of fresh fruit. The crust was of the perfect texture: it melted in your mouth while it retained that buttery, crumbly taste. I haven’t quite found a bakery in the Bay Area that specializes in tarts, pies and quiches.

Given this obsession, I’ve collected several recipes from the web that range from moderately easy to gourmet-foodie-level. I’ve tried to include a few (relatively) healthy recipes, but hey — if you’re a pie lover like me, we can indulge in these treats on occasion, right? I’ll leave it to you to decide what “on occasion” means. I’ll also post an update on this blog once I get around to making something.

Fig, Bacon, and Gorgonzola Tart

Image

[from Dishing Up Delights]

Crust-less Spinach and Feta Pie (Healthy version)

Image

[from Skinny Taste]

Shepherd’s Pie

Image

[from Collaborative Curry]

Chocolate-Caramel Tart

Image

[from Gourmet Traveller]

Miniature Blueberry Pies

Image

[from Sweetcakes Bakeshop]

Stone-Fruit Tart

Image

[from Always with Butter]

Leek, Pesto, and Ricotta Pie

Image

[from Sweet Paul]

Mini Heirloom Tomato Tartlets with a Parmesan Crust

Image

[from Flourishing Foodie]

And if you want a good, frozen premade crust, I’d recommend the Trader Joe’s pie crusts. Food bloggers have raved about the product — such as:

[The Kitchn] Review of Trader Joe’s Frozen Pie Crusts

Leave a Reply

